New York’s Congressional Delegation And School Choice

The proposed Educational Choice for Children Act (ECCA) would establish a federal tax credit for donations made to scholarship-granting organizations. Under the ECCA, those organizations would provide scholarships that could be used by parents to fund their children’s primary and secondary school tuition, to defray homeschooling costs, and to pay for school supplies, technology, and equipment. In short, the ECCA would be a nationwide game-changer for low- and middle-income families—Christian and non-Christian alike—who do not believe that public schools are the best option for their children. More freedom for parents means better opportunities for students.

As of November 9, 2023, the following members of New York’s congressional delegation have cosponsored the ECCA:

  • Rep. Anthony D’Esposito (R-NY4);
  • Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY11);
  • Rep. Michael Lawler (R-NY17);
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY21);
  • Rep. Brandon Williams (R-NY22);
  • Rep. Nicholas Langworthy (R-NY23); and
  • Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY24).

House Republican Conference Chair Elise Stefanik, a proponent of school choice and a parent, commented: “‘This Educational Choice for Children Act is a fulfillment of House Republicans’ Commitment to America, putting students first and expanding parental choice so students can receive the education their parents know is best.’”

New Yorkers for Constitutional Freedoms is pleased that seven House Republicans from New York have signed on to the ECCA. However, we are not satisfied. The following 19 New York congressmembers—four Republicans and 15 Democrats—have not yet co-sponsored the ECCA:

  • Rep. Nick LaLota (R-NY1);
  • Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY2);
  • Rep. George Santos (R-NY3);
  • Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY5):
  • Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY6);
  • Rep. Nydia Velázquez (D-NY7);
  • Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY8);
  • Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY9);
  • Rep. Dan Goldman (D-NY10);
  • Rep. Jerry Nadler (D-NY12);
  • Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY13);
  • Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY14);
  • Rep. Ritchie Torres (D-NY15);
  • Rep. Jamaal Bowman (D-NY16);
  • Rep. Pat Ryan (D-NY18);
  • Rep. Marc Molinaro (R-NY19);
  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY20);
  • Rep. Joseph Morelle (D-NY25); and
  • Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY26).

Educational choice isn’t just good policy; it’s good politics. Americans in both parties overwhelmingly support it. Accordingly, NYCF invites the 19 members of New York’s congressional delegation—both Republican and Democratic—to sign on to the ECCA.


This is a pop up

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.